Hailing from Groningen, The Netherlands, Silent Bishop formed in 2009. Originally there were four founding members, but the band really started roaming the local stages as a three-piece in 2011. The judges of band contests Rooie Oortjes and the POPgroningen Talent Award commended them for their energetic live performance; a quality which the band also displayed during performances on Pagepop 2012, A Rocket Ride to Gideon 2012 and two editions of Groningsch Peil.

With its brutal guitar riffs, powerful vocals, heavy bass and grooving drums, Silent Bishop’s sound has its heritage in the music of Alice in Chains, Mastodon, Pantera, Tool and Queens of the Stone Age. Combining the grooves of stoner and grunge with influences of both progressive rock and metal, Silent Bishop specializes in energetic heavy rock that gets your blood pumping!

The band recorded a demo in 2011 but after two years of honing their skills, the guys decided at the start of 2013 that it was high time for some serious new recordings. They soon found themselves in the No Pussy Blues studios in Groningen, where they started recording in the summer of 2013. After much blood, sweat, and beers, the band released their new EP ‘The Motivational Speaker’ in January 2014.

After the EP release, the band went through a line-up change in 2014. The band used the rest of the year and most of 2015 to work on new material and recording new songs. 2016 marked the return to the public, with a lastminute gig during one of Eurosonic’s many side events and a new single soon to be released.

Silent Bishop is:
Kerwin Pauptit – Guitars and Vocals
Jan-Wessel Hovingh – Bass and Vocals
Henri Rutten – Drums